Here Is What to Expect If You Are Charged With Sexual Assault

Getting charged with a sexual assault offense in Texas is a life-altering event and can have serious consequences for your freedom and future. It is important to understand the basics of the criminal process so that you can take the first steps to secure a solid defense plan, including hiring a competent Sexual Assault Attorney in San Antonio.

Understanding the Crime of Sexual Assault in Texas

The Texas Penal Code defines sexual assault as the knowing, intentional or reckless act of harming or threatening to harm another person through a sexual act without that person’s consent. A sexual assault offense can be elevated to the more serious level of aggravated sexual assault when the act is performed knowingly or intentionally and with a child or one of many other aggravating factors.

Aggravated sexual assault is treated as a first-degree felony offense in Texas. The minimum prison sentence for a defendant convicted of aggravated sexual assault is 25 years if the victim is under the age of 14 years old. If the defendant is found to have used physical violence in the sexual attack, the penalties are also much harsher.

A defendant charged with sexual assault may be required to undergo the HIV system with the results to be released to the alleged victim. Fines also generally increase depending on the violent circumstances of the sexual assault. The convicted defendant may also be required to register as a sex offender on state databases, which can have serious consequences for employment and housing opportunities.

Retaining a Sexual Assault Attorney in San Antonio

Contact them if you are searching for a sexual assault attorney in San Antonio to help you build your defense. Schedule a consultation today with our experienced legal team to get started on putting together a proactive legal strategy for your case.