Like almost every other state, Texas has laws in place to protect consumers who buy a new vehicle. If your car or truck seems to break down all the time or is always in need of repairs, you could be protected under the Texas Lemon Law. While it isn’t likely to fix the current vehicle, it does give you a chance to get a refund or get a new, comparable vehicle without all the issues. Learning more about the law and how it affects you can help you determine what next steps to take.
Your vehicle is considered a lemon in the state of Texas using a variety of methods, such as:
- How many attempts at repair have been made for the same issue
- If the defect has caused your vehicle to be out of service (non-drivable) for a significant time
- If the defect creates a safety issue
In most cases, you must prove that the manufacturer or authorized dealer tried to fix the problem four times in the last two years or 24,000 miles. You can also qualify if your vehicle has been out of service (unable to be driven) for 30+ days in the first 24,000 miles or two years.
Along with such, if the problem can threaten your life or impede your ability to operate the vehicle normally and safely, your car could also be considered a lemon.
Many people choose to hire a lawyer because timing is critical for the lemon law. You have to file your claim within six months of one of these conditions:
- Two years from the delivery date
- Expiration of the warranty
- 24,000 miles clocked on the odometer from when the car was delivered
The lemon law can help you get restitution, but you’ve only got a particular amount of time. Visit Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® in Texas for more information.